Perched on top of the famous clay cliffs in Aquinnah, the Gay Head Lighthouse is in danger of toppling into the sea below if it isn’t moved back within the next year and a half. In a race against time, locals are frantically trying to accumulate the funds to get this historic icon moved to a yet to be decided location.
So why the urgency? To move the Gay Head Lighthouse safely, there needs to be a 30′ circumference around the lighthouse to accommodate the heavy impact of the moving vehicles and machinery. Currently there is only 47′, and that is swifty eroding, according to a geological and engineering study performed 2012.
In order to move the 400 ton beacon the town of Aquinnah is applying for ownership from the US Coast Guard, and scrambling to raise over $3,000,000 for the project. The Save Gay Head Lighthouse Advisory Committee is well underway, hoping to raise 2/3 of the funding from private sources, and 1/3 from public events, as well as public and private grants. They hope to be able to move the Gay Head Lighthouse in late fall of 2014 to one of three spots. The final location will be chosen based on geological factors, and many other factors. If everything goes to plan the actual move should take about 1-2 weeks.
In 1796, thanks in large part to the whaling and shipping industries, Massachusetts State Senator, Peleg Coffin, put in a request to Congress to have a lighthouse installed on Martha’s Vineyard overlooking what is known as “Devils Bridge”, a shallow dangerous passage in the Vineyard Sound. By 1799 the Gay Head Lighthouse was constructed and helped many a sailor on their voyage. Just a short 45 years later, the lighthouse had to be moved back 75’. John Mayhew of Edgartown was in charge of the move, and the total cost at time was $396.75.
Due to weather and erosion, the original octagonal shaped building had to be replaced in 1885, to what is now the iconic brick building we know and love today. At that time, Gay Head was listed as the 9th most important lighthouse in our country. Because of this, and the timing of needing to be replaced it was the first United States lighthouse to receive a Fresnel lens, making the light the most visually powerful lighthouse yet.
In order to differentiate itself from the area’s two other light houses – one at Sankaty Head, and the other at Montauk Point- the Gay Head Lighthouse changed from flashing white to flashing three whites and a red in 1874.
Things remained relatively the same for many years with the lighthouse until 1954. With electricity starting to replace kerosene in the early half of the 20th century, it was only a matter of time until our beloved lighthouse was converted to an electric lamp.
Now we are at the end of a fabulous chapter of history for this iconic lighthouse. Within the next couple of months we will be turning the page to a new era of history for The Gay Head Lighthouse; one that hopefully will last another century.
To help save The Gay Head Lighthouse, please visit www.gayheadlight.org
Sandpiper Rentals, Inc
CLICK HERE to search our Martha’s Vineyard vacation rental home SPECIALS
CLICK HERE to search through our inventory of over 500 homes